In and around Mumbai!

On a fine Sunday morning, having nothing better to do and more so upon insistence of my flat mates (N &T) , we decided to visit the Elephant caves. Though it will be my second time there, I was enthusiastic about going since I believe  journey with different people can bring in different perspectives about the place. Same is the case with life I guess.

As always the streets of Bombay fascinated me. Some pictures I clicked during the walk towards Gateway of India from where we had to catch the ferry to the caves.

IMG_2548

IMG_2543

IMG_2546

That weekend being the New Year weekend the whole of Maharashtra and tourists from all over the world had the same intention as us – to see the caves!  The queue for the tickets was so long that the flat mates gave up on the idea. I seconded the idea since there is no point in going to a place with so much of history and scenic beauty unless you can see and understand the place without being pushed and pulled in the crowed.

Within no time we decided to pursue our plan B – of visiting the Jehangir Art Gallery and the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya,( formerly Prince of Wales Museum of Western India ). Our first stop was at Jehangir Art Gallery. I am not a knowledgeable art lover and hence the modern art exhibitions did not excite me as much as the paintings outside – on the streets did! N &T did enjoy since both were interested in paintings. I was amazed at the way they interpreted the mental state or psyche of the artist based on his art creations. The texture of the paper used and the kind of paints used were also discussed, which went way above my head.

I choose to see, understand and observe such artsy stuff in isolation rather than in groups and for the same reason I was on my own at the gallery and finished earlier  . This gave me an opportunity to venture out and be a part of the hustle bustle on the street.

WP_20131229_020

I always had a fascination for those artists/painters who make their living by selling their paintings on the streets. Those people whose art can be bought for a few hundred rupees because they are not famous and not because they are not creative enough.

WP_20131229_048

WP_20131229_039

WP_20131229_036

WP_20131229_028

These pictures may not have captured the beauty of the paintings but it’s a tribute to those who do not need a getaway or luxurious surroundings for their creativity to take form. It’s a matter of making a living.

The Jehangir art gallery also has a lovely café – Samovar. Unfortunately the same was not opened and hence I could not take N &T there. I shall soon write on the same – the place truly deserves a separate post.

The next stop was at Prince of Wales Museum It was interesting to see people from all over the world coming to see the museum  , whereas I had never been to the said place despite of being in Mumbai for 4 years. Guess it’s in humans to never appreciate what is around you and look forward to things that are far away.

Since we had only a couple of hours we managed to see only one section of the museum. We have decided to dedicate one whole day the next time to explore the place.

Without delving into historical details, I would let the pictures that I clicked do the talking.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A bit of history, quality time with flat mates, and tottering around my favorite part of Mumbai – the day went well. As we were on our way back home in the local train to the  newer part of Mumbai I realized that the hustle bustle of Mumbai never tires me. I still share a love- hate relationship with Mumbai – period.

Leave a Reply

