Reasons to be happy – (3)!

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/85/Smiley.svg

Some assorted incidents, occasions and reasons for happiness that I experienced over the weekend!

 1.    A thought – Living in the present

 Happened to come across a beautiful quote by Lao Tzu:

“If you are depressed you are living in the past.

If you are anxious you are living in the future.

If you are at peace you are living in the present.”

Led to me think where exactly I am placed now. I think I am somewhere between the past and the future but not exactly in the present. I may not be depressed nor anxious but not at peace with myself. Only if I knew what it takes for me to reach the present!

 2.    Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XVII

 I happened to read Pablo Neruda’s Sonnet XVII: I do not love you as if you were brine-rose, topaz by….and I loved it. I am gearing up to order one of his collections through Flip Kart unless someone reading my virtual world is planning to gift me one.

3.    Annayum Rasoolum

The movie which was written off by the ‘critics’ for its length and  editing won the award for the best editing.  Mr B. Ajith Kumar won the award for the Best Editor at the Kerala State Film Award! I do feel that the ‘critics’ should have a re- look at the reasoning!

Good news: Flip Kart is letting you download the entire music album of the movie for free until March 3, 2012 ! Tripping on this one – Vazhivakkil since morning! The good/ bad habit of listening to the same song for the whole day has re-surfaced!

4.    The dear friend and the golf course

I happened to stay over at a very dear friend’s place which overlooks a golf course. It was interesting to watch the gentleman game for the first five minutes. Post the same the greenery and the cool breeze enticed me more 🙂

Out of curiosity I went on to Google why it is called ‘gentleman’s game’ and the first link in Google game me a logical explanation – “….because nobody fight over the ball, as each one has his own, unlike soccer and definitely not very violent like American football, where loads of people hitting each other for one ball….” True but not sure if it is the right reason!

I have plans to read on the game online and understand how it works. I shall be visiting the dear friend post that to sit on her window, sip a ‘chai’ and watch the game!

5.    Vandanam

I was watching ‘Vandanam’ on Asianet Movies yesterday -one of my favourite movies of Mohanlal. The way emotions has been dealt in the movie is beautiful – be it romance, comedy or grief. If one manages to re-create the same emotions we will have the era of cult Malayalam movies all over once again!

6.    Variety

A good friend who follows my blog religiously defined my blog in three works ‘Mumbai’, ‘Fort Kochi’ and ‘current craze –period’! Taking cue from that I have consciously decided to write on other topics. Though I cannot guarantee not writing about the above three!

7.    Words of Appreciation

So the ‘real writer’ of the movie- Mr. Shanker Ramakrishnan liked my review of Mr. Preman – the ‘ reel writer’ of Natholi Oru Cheriya Meenalla and wrote to me Just sharing the excitement!

8.    Food

This weekend I got to relish excellent food. Saturday afternoon was spent at Sunny’s Restaurant having a nice Kerala meal with ‘Karimeen fry’, followed by a simple delicious dinner of ‘rasam’ and ‘rice’ at the close friend’s place. Sunday morning was evening more special because of the lovely ‘ dosas’ made by the close friend coupled up with the ‘mulaka podi’ purchased from our very own Madras Café. What more do you need. I was truly ‘living in the present’ and relishing every bit of it !

I guess I should re-visit point no.1?!

One thought on “Reasons to be happy – (3)!

Leave a Reply

