I like ! Part II – Annayum Rasoolum (Subject in scrutiny)

https://i2.wp.com/www.metromatinee.com/movies/images/m3706/large/Annayum%20Rasoolum37466.jpg
http://www.metromatinee.com/movies/images/m3706/large/Annayum%20Rasoolum37466.jpg

Disclaimer: The post intents to highlight only those aspects I liked about the ‘subject in scrutiny’. I truly believe that I am not competent enough to criticize or point out any flaws of the creator’s vision. Writing off a creative piece which took hundreds of days to take its final form in five minutes is something I don’t stand for. My opinions can be extremely partial if the subject in question has any connection to any person or emotion or thought that is close to me. So welcome to the opinion of the blogger on the subject in scrutiny.

It’s been quite some time since I wrote the first in this series –I like! Part I – Aksharangal (Subject in scrutiny). Had to take something very special like ‘Annayum Rasoolum’ for me to write the Part II.

I loved this movie even before its release for three reasons  (i) current craze –period is in the lead role (ii) Muthumani –a close friend is a part of the movie (iii) shot in Fort Cochin- where I grew up.

I loved this movie even more after its release for the following reasons and many more – in no order of priority!

  1. Extremely well etched characters:  Every character has a background, a line of thought and framework. Every action has a reason behind it – apart from Rasool’s- which is again justified – he is in love and love needs no reason!

  1. Locale: I love Fort Cochin hence anything shot there will be dear to me! But what I liked in this movie was the excellent use of the nuances of the places like the boat jetty,jangar, fishing net , those narrow lanes and many more. Seems like it has been written by a person either lived his life there or done such detailed research. I must thank the makers for the mention of my Alma mater -Delta Study in the movie 🙂 It was wonderful to see the little girl in the uniform that I wore for years!

  1. Narration: Expressing your emotions with your eyes is nothing new in the world of love! All of us would have probably done it at some point in life. But conveying it effectively on reel life is unique and a treat to watch! Another movie where I felt eyes did most of the talking was Mani Ratnam‘s Dil Se – one of my favourites till date!

  1. Fahadh Fazil : Looks truly in love – purpose accomplished! He is not required to portray grey shades, intricate emotions, complex situations like his earlier movies. He simply needs to convince us that he is in love and express all shades if it. He has done that to perfection!As I mentioned in my earlier post about him – either there is a bit of Fahadh in Rasool or he is a brilliant actor or both. Proved to the world that if love can be expressed through a lip lock, it can be equally or expressed better through your eyes!

  1. Andreah Jermiah: I cannot believe that Anna – is played by someone who is an born and brought up in Chennai and has probably never lived in Kerala – leave alone Fort Cochin. She is real, raw,  expressive and beautiful! If the performance Fahadh who has lived in Kerala, been to Fort Cochin, interacted with people from the city can be termed as awesome  then the performance of Andreah who is new to all these must be rated one notch higher – brilliant! Rasool’s Anna remains with you even after the movie.

  1. The music and lyrics: Krishna Kumar have succeeded in creating the right atmosphere by using the songs  of noted singer Mehboob. I see it as a tribute to the legend from the land who loved him. I also see the love and admiration for the real Fort Cochin and not the ‘touristy’ fort cochin through the songs. The use of words like ‘Aspinwall, ‘A.V. Thomas company’ in the song ‘Kayalinarike’ stands out for reasons known to any Kochite!

  1. Take on Romeo and Juliet – Though not completely -the movie looks like a take on Romeo –Juliet . It takes lots of courage, study and  more importantly love for classics to internalise the story and create something beautiful out of it. Hats off to Rajeev Ravi, G. Sethunath and Santhosh Echikkanam.

  1. Directors turned actors: Beyond the excellent acting I see a sense of camaraderie among people in the same profession. They also proved that they know what they make the actors do – acting!

The movie hits you deep down. After I watched the movie I took time to get back – it leaves you in a trance.

Anna and Rasool will are not characters you will be in awe of but they will slowly seep in to you and remain with you. The characters may fade away after some time but will definitely leave a bit of them in you.

 I went for the movie to watch Rasool. But after seeing the movie I beg to differ. Go watch the movie for Rajeev Ravi – and his characterization of Anna and Rasool. This one is a director’s movie!

 All said and done, I will always remain biased towards Rasool! After all he is the current craze-period!

Let love remain.

Factual mistakes in the write-up are to be ignored. Just feel the love 🙂

14 thoughts on “I like ! Part II – Annayum Rasoolum (Subject in scrutiny)

  1. Sarah,I can totally relate to you. I didn’t leave the theater even after the movie got over. The characters followed me. It took more than a week before they left me! 🙂 I am 34 and married, so I can only imagine what emotions this movie will create in youth, looking for the eternal love! 🙂

    Like

      1. yup .it was very much inspired. have heard rajiv ravi sharing it in an interview. very first idea was to make a modern day romeo juliet set in fort cochin.

        Like

Leave a Reply

