Christmas time!

“……..Dashing through the snow

In a one-horse open sleigh

O’er the fields we go

Laughing all the way

Bells on bobtail ring’

Making spirits bright

What fun it is to ride and sing

A sleighing song tonight!

Jingle bells, jingle bells,

Jingle all the way.

Oh! what fun it is to ride

In a one-horse open sleigh.

Jingle bells, jingle bells,

Jingle all the way;

Oh! what fun it is to ride

In a one-horse open sleigh…………..”

 I look forward to Christmas not because we have any huge celebration at home. But because it’s the time for homecoming. Sister and I come home for Christmas irrespective of whichever part of the word we are. At least one of us remains at home if not the both of us.

 This time it is different as both us will not be at home. Mum and dad are upset – but they understand!

 I recollect some of my favorite Christmas celebrations:

 If I recollect correctly, I attend a huge Christmas party for children at the age of 6 or 7. The interesting part was that the Santa came on a Scooty and gave all of us gifts that we wished for! At that age I was astonished that Santa figured out what I wanted. Later I did realize that all parents had to give gifts meant for the kid along with the registration details for the party!

 Christmas celebrations at school have always been exciting. We used to have carol singing and plays as a part of Christmas celebration. I got an opportunity to become an angel in the plays two or three times! Though walking around with the wings was a little tiring, I was excited to be a part of that world 🙂

 Due to absence of one of the boys , I did become a Shepard too in one of the school plays. Since it was decided at the last moment I could not inform my dad and even he did not recognize that his daughter was one of the shepherds 🙂

 I do remember some of the Christmas celebrations at one of the churches in Fort Cochin were my parents are members – Karuvellipady St Mary’s Church, Fort Cochin. I remember being a part of the play wherein, yet again I was one of the angels! The play turned out to be hilarious when all the angels started laughing seeing some hay stuck in the crown of one of the ‘three kings’!

 Once we moved to the flat at Cochin, we have never had groups coming home to sing Christmas carol except once. This was a couple of years ago when the members of Karuvellipady St Mary’s Church, Fort Cochin embarked on the exciting journey. It was a pleasure welcoming them home. My sister did capture the fun in a photograph of me with the carol singing group, wearing the santa cap and framed it. Now it’s a permanent fixture in our drawing room.

 I have no idea how this Christmas is going to be –away from family. Intent to celebrate it with close ones in the city of dreams!

 The celebration has indeed begun with a close friend – Divya Nair! We decorated the flat and even made our small Christmas tree!

 We decorated it over the weekend since we may not get time during weekdays! Close friend is working on Christmas too – Welcome to Mumbai 🙂

 Thanks to my secret Santa at office – Preeti Bakshi who gifted me the Mother Mary! Looks beautiful isn’t it?!

 123

The close friend was more excited than me to decorate the Christmas tree since it was her first time! And she did it beautiful too 🙂

 More on Christmas celebrations after 25th . Till then – Merry Christmas to all!

Related articles
8 thoughts on “Christmas time!

Leave a Reply

