I need my space?!

 

https://i1.wp.com/joemurraystudio.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/06/I-need-my-space.gif

 

“ Ma… I need my space”. This is one ‘standard dialogue’ that I tend to use every other day with my mother.

The other day we had a very ‘healthy’ discussion on a ‘disputed’ topic and I ended the conversation with the ‘standard dialogue’. The end was abrupt due to lack of balance on my phone. I further went on to recharge and call her in order to mitigate the tension with a few kisses and a good night – Happy ending I suppose!

Back to the ‘standard dialogue’ – What do I exactly mean when I say it? That there is a bit of ‘me’ that I would rather keep to myself, there are certain things that I would like to sort out internally in the highly disorganised part of ‘me’ called the mind, there is a part of me that finds happiness in being with only the ‘ me’ at times.

May be there are more definitions to it. But what stands out is the ‘ME’. I would rather not take this as being selfish or self-centred. I believe that needing one’s space is a way of dealing with oneself so that you can organise yourself. It is a must in every person’s life.

As I say that – I wonder how many of our mothers got that to say this to us after we were born – “Kid …..I need my space!’.

Possibilities:

(a)   We would have never accepted it!

(b)   We would have never understood it!

(c)   Our mothers would have never said it! They would never want a ‘space’ without us.

Conclusion: Mothers are from Mars. A different species altogether! Love them for what they are.

And maybe I will need lesser space if and when I become a mother!

5 thoughts on “I need my space?!

Leave a Reply

